The Women’s WorldTour made its debut on the UCI calendar in 2016 with 17 races across a seven-month season.

The new tour signified a major step up for elite women’s cycling and it was Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) who proved up to the challenge, taking out the Series with a convincing 322point victory from Leah Kirchmann (Liv-Plantur).

Comprising of four stage races and 12 one-day race, the Women’s WorldTour saw 20 individual winners but it was Boels-Dolmans who finished with 15 wins from five different riders who dominated the competition.

The Tour kicked off with Strade Bianchi in March, with world champion Elizabeth Deignan (Boels-Dolmans) claiming the first victory before going on to be the most crowned rider with five wins across the Series.

On an Australian front, Wiggle High5’s Chloe Hosking claimed three stage wins, the Tour of Chongming Island and the popular La Course by Le Tour de France.

Teammate Jolien D’Hoore concluded the Series with a win at Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta. 

2016 Women’s WorldTour Results

5 MarchStrade BiancheElizabeth Deignan (Boels-Dolmans)
12 MarchRonde van DrentheChantal Blaak (Boels-Dolmans)
20 MarchTrofeo Alfredo Binda – Comune di CittiglioElizabeth Deignan (Boels-Dolmans)
27 MarchGent-Wevelgem in Flanders Field Chantal Blaak (Boels-Dolmans)
3 AprilRonde van Vleenderen / Tour of FlandersElizabeth Deignan (Boels-Dolmans)
20 AprilLe Fleche Wallonna FeminineAnna Van der Breggen (Rabobank-Liv)
6-8 MayTour of Chongming IslandChloe Hosking (Wiggle High5)
19-22 MayTour of CaliforniaMegan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans)
5 JunePhiladelphia International Cycling ClassicMegan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans)
15-19 JuneAviva Women’s TourElizabeth Deignan (Boels-Dolmans)
1-10 JulyGiro d’Italia International FemminileMegan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans)
24 JulyLa Course by Le Tour de FranceChloe Hosking (Wiggle High5)
30 JulyPrudential Ride London Grand PrixKirsten Wild (Hitec Products)
19 AugustCrescent Women’s World Cup Vargarda TTTBoels-Dolmans
21 AugustCrescent Women’s World Cup VargardaEmelia Fahlin (Ale Cipollini)
27 AugustGP de Plouay-BretagneEugenia Bujak (BTC City Ljubjana)
11 SeptemberMadrid Challenge by La VueltaJolien D’Hoore (Wiggle High5)