JAN 2024


Official Start List

The provisional start list of the 2017 Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race is now available.

Click here to view and download.

AG2R La Mondiale (FRA)

AG2R La Mondiale is a French team established in 1992, orginially under the name of Team Chazal Vanille et Mure.

In 2008, the team name was updated and in 2016 AG2R La Mondiale finished 2016 with eight victories, all apart from one won in France.

  • Jan Bakelants (BEL)
  • Julien Berard (FRA)
  • Francois Bidard (FRA)
  • Ben Gastauer (LUX)
  • Clement Chevrier (FRA)
  • Matteo Montaguti (ITA)
  • Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA)
BMC Racing Team (USA)

Founded in 2006, the BMC Racing Team is a United States-registered UCI WorldTour team sponsored by BMC Switzerland. The former team of Cadel Evams concluded the 2016 season with 29 victories, including the Rio Olympic Games gold medal.

  • Damiano Caruso (ITA)
  • Rohan Dennis (AUS)
  • Amael Moinard (FRA)
  • Richie Porte (AUS) – Sunday only
  • Miles Scotson (AUS)
  • Francisco Ventoso (SPA)
  • Danilo Wyss (SWI)
Bora Hansgrohe (GER)
  • Sam Bennett (BEL)
  • Gregor Muhlbergsr (AUT)
  • Michael Kolar (CZE)
  • Pascal Ackermann (GER)
  • Jay McCarthy (AUS)
  • Lukas Postleberger (AUT)
  • Rudiger Selig (GER)
Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team (USA)
  • Alex Howes (USA)
  • Brendan Canty (AUS)
  • Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED)
  • Patrick Bevin (NZL)
  • Tom Van Asbroeck (BEL)
  • Michael Woods (CAN)
  • William Clarke (AUS)
Team Dimension Data (RSA)

Dimension Data became the first African team in the UCI in 2016. Racing as pro-continental team ‘MTN-Qhubeka’ in 2015, the outfit enjoyed 34 professional victories, including five Tour de France stage victories, in their debut year in the WorldTour.

  • Nathan Haas (AUS)
  • Mark Renshaw (AUS)
  • Ben O’Connor (AUS)
  • Lachlan Morton (AUS)
  • Jacques Janse van Rensburg (RSA)
  • Jacobus Venter (RSA)
  • Tyler Farrar (USA)
Quick-Step Floors (BEL)
  • Dries Devenyns (BEL)
  • Jacob Bauer (NZL)
  • Eros Capecchi (ITA)
  • Martin Velits (SVK)
  • Petr Vakoc (CZE)
  • Enris Mas Nicolau (ESP)
  • Gianluca Brambilla (ITA)
Team Katusha Alpecin (SUI)

Team Katusha is Russia’s first top-tiered cycling team and part of the country’s ‘Russian Global Cycling Project’.  Conceived, developed and created in 2008, Team Katusha joined the WorldTour in 2009 and changed their name to Team Katusha Alpecin in 2017. In 2016, they recorded 25 professional victories, including stage wins at each of the three grand tours.

  • Angel Vicioso (ESP)
  • Maurits Lammertink (NED)
  • Sven Bystrom (NOR)
  • Tiago Pinto Machado (POR)
  • Jonatan Restrepo (COL)
  • Jose Maciel Gonçalves (POR)
  • Baptiste Jacques Planckaert (BEL)
Team Lotto NL Jumbo (NED)

A Dutch outfit established in 1984 and famous for its period as ‘Rabobank’ between 1996 and 2012. New sponsors in 2015 saw the name change to LottoNL-Jumbo. After a soft season of seven wins in 2015, they improved in 2016, recording 19 professional victories for the year.

  • Bert Lindeman (NED)
  • Robert Wagner (GER)
  • Koen Bouwman (NED)
  • Alexey Vermeulen (USA)
  • Paul Martens (GER)
  • Enrico Battaglin (ITA)
Lotto Soudal (BEL)

Despite a number of team name changes, Lotto-Soudal was first created in 1985 and, thanks to the continued support of ‘Lotto’, raced their 30th season in 2015.  The Belgian team took 21 victories in 2016, including ten wins courtesy of sprinter Andre Greipel.

  • Sander Aremee (BEL)
  • Lars Bak (DEN)
  • Sean De Bie (BEL)
  • Thomas De Gendt (BEL)
  • Adam Hansen (AUS)
  • James Shaw (GBR)
  • Rafael Valls Ferri (SPA)

The home team was established in 2011 to be the first Australian professional team to race in the UCI WorldTour. After debuting in 2012, they change their name to ORICA-SCOTT in 2017 having concluded the 2016 season with 29 victories, including one-day Classics Paris-Roubaix and Il Lombardia.

  • Esteban Chaves (COL)
  • Simon Gerrans (AUS)
  • Mitch Docker (AUS)
  • Damien Howson (AUS)
  • Michael Hepburn (AUS)
  • Sam Bewley (NZL)
  • Luke Durbridge (AUS) – Sunday Only
  • Caleb Ewan (AUS) – Race Melbourne only
Team Sunweb (GER)
  • Nikias Ardnt (GER)
  • Phil Bauhaus (GER)
  • Johannes Frohlinger (GER)
  • Simon Reschke (GER)
  • Lennard Hofstede (NED)
  • Wilco Kelderman (NED)
  • Christopher Hamilton (NED)
Team Sky (GBR)

British powerhouse Team Sky was founded in 2009 as Sky Procycling and has only grown from strength to strength since their debut in the UCI WorldTour. In 2016, Team Sky enjoyed 39 professional wins, including five Grand Tour stages and overall victory at the Tour de France.

  • Chris Froome (GBR)
  • Luke Rowe (GBR)
  • Ian Stannard (GBR)
  • Sergio Henao (COL)
  • Danny Van Poppel (NED)
  • Sebastian Henao (COL)
  • Kenny Elisonde
Trek-Segafredo (USA)

Registered in the United States and operating from Luxembourg, Trek Factory Racing was launched in 2011. Registering 22 wins in 2016, the team was ranked 9th in the WorldTour at the end of the most recent season.

  • Edward Theuns (BEL)
  • Koen de Kort (NED)
  • Laurent Didier (LUX)
  • Ruben Almeida Guerreiro (POR)
  • Jarlinson Pantano (COL)
  • Mads Pederson (DEN)
  • Peter Stetina (USA)
Aqua Blue Sport (IRL)
  • Michel Kreder (NED)
  • Peter Koning (NED)
  • Leigh Howard (AUS)
  • Calvin Watson (AUS)
  • Aaron Gate (NZL)
  • Lawrence Warbasse (USA)
  • Connor Dunne (IRL)
Gazprom-Rusvelo (RUS)
  • Pavel Brutt (RUS)
  • Ivan Savitckii (RUS)
  • Sergei Nikolaev (RUS)
  • Artur Ershov (RUS)
  • Nikolay Trusov (RUS)
  • Kirill Sveshnikov (RUS)
  • Alexei Tcatevich (RUS)
Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij (NED)
  • Jesper Asselman (NED)
  • Willem Arisen (NED)
  • Jeroen Meijers (NED)
  • Martijn Tusveld (NED)
  • Nicky van der Lijke (NED)
  • Sjoerd van Ginneken (NED)
  • Taco van der Hoorn (NED)
UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team (USA)

UnitedHealthcare, developed by Momentum Sports Group in 2003, is a UCI pro-continental team based in America. The outfit took six professional victories in 2016, including a win on Australian soil at the Herald Sun Tour.

  • Jonathan Clarke (AUS)
  • Adrian Hegyvary (USA)
  • Gregory Henderson (USA)
  • Janier Acevedo (COL)
  • Travis McCabe (USA)
  • Lachlan Norris (USA)
  • Tanner Putt (USA)
Kordamentha Real Estate Australian National Team (AUS)

Cycling Australia, the national governing body of cycling in Australia, will select an open age national team to compete at the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race. As a nation, Australia finished eighth in the world in the UCI WorldTour rankings in 2016.

  • Lucas Hamilton (AUS)
  • Jai Hindley (AUS) – Sunday only
  • Michael Storer (AUS)
  • Cameron Meyer (AUS)
  • Cameron Bayly (AUS)
  • Scott Bowden (AUS)
  • Alexander Porter (AUS)
  • Brenton Jones (AUS) – Race Melbourne

Home / Elite Men / 2017 Men’s Teams