UCI WorldTour Elite Men’s Road Race

You can’t beat the unpredictable nature and electric atmosphere of this modern one day classic. After dedicating his career to helping teammates to victory, Dries Devenyns (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) claimed the Elite Men’s title and his second UCI WorldTour win.

2020 Race Results 

  1. Dries Devenyns, Deceuninck – Quick-Step
  2. Pavel Sivakov, Team INEOS
  3. Daryl Impey, Mitchelton-SCOTT
  4. Jens Keukeleire, EF Education First
  5. Dylan Van Baarle, Team INEOS

Gerry Ryan Best Young Rider
Pavel Sivakov, Team INEOS

King of the Mountain
Carter Turnbull, Kordamentha Australian National Team

Mapei Sprint Classification
Carter Turnbull, Kordamentha Australian National Team

What they say

The 2020 Course

Elite Men's
Elite Womens

Race director Scott Sunderland designed the course in consultation with Cadel Evans keeping the early season timing in mind.

There can be a fast and sometimes windy start to the race along the exposed roadways before technical sections including city circuits, four times over the Challambra Climb and an electric sprint finish.

*Start time and course subject to changes

Barwon Heads
The Bellarine Breakaway

Big crowds gather in Barwon Heads, the hometown of Cadel Evans, where the peloton flies down the main street, likely to be trying hard to establish an early breakaway in the race.

Travelling through Barwon Heads, the race then changes direction and hugs the coast at Thirteenth Beach – one of the most picturesque, but exposed sections of the course, where cyclists must navigate and position themselves against the local coastal winds for the first time.

Surf Coast
Heat of the race

If it hasn’t already, directional changes on the roads behind Torquay provide the perfect opportunity for a breakaway to distance itself from the peloton as the race moves onto the Surf Coast.

Then, a long straight stretch across the marshes of Blackgate Road, Breamlee, expose the riders to the elements, and wind again plays a factor in shaping the early action.

The Surf Coast Sprint

Next, the race begins to close in on busy Torquay, a haven for locals and a much-loved escape for Melbournians and visitors from around the world. The many families, swimmers and surfers gathering around the busy beaches in Torquay will pause to watch the colourful peloton charge into the first intermediate sprint and gather at one of the spectator cheer sites.

Through the main street and past the many cafes and restaurants, the race then finds itself on the famous Great Ocean Road.

The Closing Stages

Geelong signals an arrival onto the finishing circuits, but with a gruelling 55km still to travel.

The Elite Men’s course takes on a climb of Challambra Crescent upon entry into Geelong. Descending down Scenic Road, the peloton will touch speeds of almost 85km/h into Queens Park.

The course has a pinch as it climbs its way out of Queens Park and up the road of the same name.

A left turn and a further pinch up Melville Avenue, the race then continues up Minerva Road, connecting through to Church Street. The race travels through residential Geelong, past the Victorian houses along Church Street, over the Highway and onto the Geelong waterfront. It’s here that the riders get their first look at what the finale will be like in three laps time.

The Waterfront and Finish

Back to where it all began, the finish – adjacent to Steampacket Gardens on Geelong’s Waterfront – is a fast one. But first, it will signal three laps to go. Climbing up Yarra Street away from the waterfront they continue.

When they reach GMHBA Stadium, the course resembles that of the 2010 UCI Road World Championships, with a descent down Moorabool Street and across the river, then a right turn and a cruise along Barrabool Road past the reserve.

The climb up to Highton via Barwon Boulevard and Challambra Crescent is a crowd favourite, and also evokes memories of thousands lining the course during the 2010 Road Worlds. The circuits then continue as they re-join the descent down Scenic Road.

The race will get faster and faster, with the average speed for lap one expected at around 42km/h and by the last, almost touching 50km/h.

Home / Elite Men / Elite Men’s Overview