Cuban cycling sensation Arlenis Sierra (Astana Women’s Team) dominated the final 4km to seal victory in the world-class Deakin University Elite Women’s Race.

The 26-year-old became the fifth rider to win the Elite Women’s Race since its inception.

“I had to risk everything when Kennedy was up the road,” she said.

“It was better to attack than have both of Mitchelton-SCOTT’s working against me. I decided to risk all or nothing and it worked out. I’m very happy with the victory.”

Arlenis Sierra riding to victory

Despite dominating for most of the afternoon, Mitchelton-SCOTT duo Lucy Kennedy and fan-favourite Amanda Spratt crossed the line 19 seconds after Sierra to round out the top three.

Defending champion Chloe Hosking (Alé Cipollini) stole victory in the Sprint Classification; however a slipped chain devastatingly saw her drop to the back of the pack.

Australian cyclists were well represented on the podium, as TIBCO Silicon Valley’s Brodie Chapman was also crowned Subaru Queen of the Mountain.

Lucy Kennedy and Amanda Spratt filled out the podium

The rollercoaster of our Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race course

Race Results – Women 

1. Arlenis Sierra (Astana)
2. Lucy Kennedy (Mitchelton-SCOTT)
3. Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-SCOTT)
4. Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (CCC-Liv)
5. Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo)

Mapei Sprint Classification
Chloe Hosking (Alé Cipollini)

Subaru Queen of the Mountain
Brodie Chapman (TIBCO-Silicon Valley)

Gerry Ryan Award
Jeanne Korevaar (CCC-Liv)

Average speed: 36.3km/h

#DeakinWomensRace #CadelRoadRace Highlights: