Chris Froome’s return to cycling’s top echelon will continue at the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race.

The 37-year-old veteran, whose résumé is among the best in the history of cycling, will return to the Surf Coast for the second time as his team Israel-Premier Tech set their sights on a strong performance in Sunday’s UCI WorldTour Elite Men’s race.

The seven-time Grand Tour champion – including four Tour de France triumphs – is continuing his comeback trail following a serious crash during a training run ahead of the fourth stage of the 2019 Critérium du Dauphiné in France.

Froome endured a lengthy rehab before returning to the UCI WorldTour the following year. His journey back to elite form has been gradual but there’s a steely resolve as the Brit kicks off his 17th season as a pro in Australia.



View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Cadel Road Race (@cadelroadrace)

“It’s always nice to start the season in Australia and I’m really looking forward to getting back to the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race,” he said.

“I’ve raced here once in 2017, but it was a great experience and definitely some of the most beautiful scenery and roads we race on.

“The crowds in Victoria are amazing so it’s definitely great to see the race return to the cycling calendar after the two-year hiatus.”

Froome is confident his team, featuring a brilliant mix of Grand Tour experience and up-and-coming talent, can give the race a shake.

“It’s a tough race and there is always a big selection in the finale, so I’ll be looking to help some of our punchy guys like Corbin Strong and Daryl Impey as much as possible,” he said.

Impey and Australian veteran Simon Clarke are two of Israel-Premier Tech’s more experienced heads and are no strangers to a Grand Tour nor the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race.

It will be Impey’s fourth start in the Surf Coast classic, while Clarke returns for the first time since being pipped at the post in the inaugural Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race back in 2015.

Israel-Premier Tech Men’s Team:

  • Daryl Impey (RSA)
  • Corbin Strong (NZL)
  • Simon Clarke (AUS)
  • Taj Jones (AUS)
  • Sebastian Berwick (AUS)
  • Chris Froome (GBR)
  • Derek Gee (CAN)