The peloton for the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race and Deakin University Elite Women’s Road Race has been confirmed, with 187 riders from across Australia, Europe and the world set to battle it out on the roads of Geelong and the Surf Coast this month.



The return of the 2024 mid-week races will act as the perfect warm-up for the elite men and women before they tackle the one-day races which will once again feature the iconic Challambra climb and electric sprint finish.

From stage winners of the Tour de France to one-day classic winners and prestigious international riders, the racing will see just one team and one rider triumph in the respective men’s and women’s weekend races.

Featuring the largest peloton in the Deakin University Elite Women’s Road Race history, the 2024 edition will comprise of 16 outfits, including a record nine UCI Women’s WorldTour teams.

Supported by a strong contingent of Australian riders, previous race winner Amanda Spratt (Lidl – Trek) will be looking to clinch her second title with the support of Brodie Chapman, Lauretta Hanson and current junior time trial world champion, Felicity Wilson-Haffenden.

Tour Down Under winner and Commonwealth Games gold medallist Grace Brown will headline for FDJ Suez, whilst Chloé Dygert – Olympic silver medallist and time trial world champion will compete at the event for the first time.

After a stellar performance at the 2024 AusCycling Road National Championships, Ruby Roseman-Gannon (LIV – AlUla – Jayco) is looking to continue her strong start on home soil with maiden wins at both the Geelong Classic and Deakin University Elite Women’s Road Race.

UK powerhouse INEOS Grenadiers headlines the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race field, with their start list including nine-time Grand Tour stage winner, Elia Viviani and two-time time trial world champion and six-time Giro D’Italia stage winner, Filippo Ganna.

Sprinting king, Caleb Ewan will be looking to make his mark at the first WorldTour one-day classic of the season as he returns to Australian outfit Team Jayco AlUla.

Race Director of the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race, Scott Sunderland, said it’s an exciting field with plenty of opportunity for riders.

“We’ve got riders who are targeting this race specifically and then we’ve got teams who are strong across the board and will have a few objectives for team points and multiple chances for success,” Sunderland said.

“There are teams who have a young line-up where they want to start racing early in the season with a senior member of the team to lead them, and there are others coming with the specific goal of winning this race.

The Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race is a five-day event held across the Geelong, Surf Coast and Bellarine regions.

It is an initiative of Visit Victoria, endorsed by the Victorian State Government and a pillar of Australia’s major events calendar.



Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race teams:

  • Arkéa – B&B Hotels
  • Astana Qazaqstan Team
  • Cofidis
  • EF Education-Easy Post
  • Groupama – FDJ
  • INEOS Grenadiers
  • Intermarché – Wanty
  • Lidl – Trek
  • Team dsm-firmenich PostNL
  • Team Jayco AlUla
  • Israel – Premier Tech
  • ARA | Skip Capital
  • Team BridgeLane

Deakin University Elite Women’s Road Race teams:

  • AG Insurance – Soudal Quick-Step
  • Canyon//SRAM Racing
  • FDJ – SUEZ
  • Human Powered Health
  • Lidl – Trek
  • Liv AlUla Jayco
  • Team dsm-firmenich PostNL
  • Team Visma | Lease a Bike
  • UAE Team ADQ
  • Lifeplus Wahoo
  • St Michel – Mavic – Auber93 WE
  • Tashkent City Women Professional Cycling Team
  • Team Coop – Repsol
  • Team Bridgelane WE
  • ARA | Skip Capital
  • ARA Australian Cycling Team